Student Research Award

Deadline: October 1,2016
Sponsor: Division 54

This research competition is designed to encourage and reward quality research on issues related to pediatric psychology and health care of children. An award of $1,000 will be made to the winner of the competition.

All of the research work must have been completed while the candidate was a graduate student, intern or postdoctoral fellow. In addition, candidates must be in training status (includes fellowship) at the time of award submission. The student must be the primary (first) author. A cover letter describing the candidate's status at the time the research was conducted should accompany the entry as well as a statement regarding student membership in Div. 54. A letter from the student's faculty advisor is required that describes the degree to which the project objectives, design, data collection, data analysis and manuscript preparation are the responsibility of the applicant. Thus, studies that are fully student initiated as well as those that are part of a larger funded project but for which the student assumes primary responsibility from beginning to end, may be submitted for consideration for the competitive award. Only empirical (data-based) studies will be considered. Please see our rating form (PDF, 71KB) for more information on the criteria the paper will be judged on.

Deadline: Oct. 1

Papers should be written following the guidelines outlined in the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (6th edition). Papers up to one year post-publication at the time of award submission will be considered There is a limit of 20 double-spaced pages including tables, figures and references. Papers that exceed this limit will not be reviewed. Please email the manuscript in word format (not PDF) and supporting materials to the address below. Supporting materials should include information confirming membership in Div. 54 and a letter of support from your faculty supervisor.

Submissions for this award should be emailed to:

David M. Janicke, PhD

Telephone: (352) 273-6046


2014:  Katelynn Boerner

2013: Katelyn Boerner; Bonney Reed-Knight (Honorable Mention)

2012: Melanie Noel and Sarah Martin (Honorable Mention)

2011: Margaux Barnes and Maggie Bromberg (Honorable Mention)

2010: David Fedele and Erin Moon (Honorable Mention)

2009: C. Meghan McMurtry and Lindsay Uman (Honorable Mention)

2008: Kimberly Miller

2007: Nancy Bandstra

2006: Jill MacLaren

2005: Elizabeth Stanford

2004: Molly White

2003: Jodi Kamps

2002: Mary Kral

2001: Christine Chambers

2000: Nataliya Zelikovsky

Share This Page :